Heirloom Seasons

DSCN0124
For three years, wrens nested in a Christmas tree I had on my porch. Each year, there were five eggs and each spring I had the incomparable pleasure of watching five wrens make their way out into the world. Except for this last spring. Either both parents were killed or they simply abandoned the nest, leaving these little five behind. I recently moved and although I left the tree on the porch, I took this nest as a reminder that spring, and hope, are eternal.

2 thoughts on “Heirloom Seasons

  1. My aunt has a similar nest on her porch. Every year I’d look forward to hearing about the Robin eggs that would show up every spring. One year the birds didn’t come back, but she still keeps the nest in its place as a nice reminder of how beautiful life can be.

Leave a Reply

