“They can say…” / A Collaboration with S.M. Abeles

DSCN1095 (1)b

They can say
the times have passed me by
like it matters.

I’m here.
I am still here.

The rusted glory
of an old man’s American dream.

©2014 S.M. Abeles

I believe this is my eighth collaboration with one of my very favorite poets. When I took this photograph and was playing with some editing, it suddenly shouted out to me, “This is an Abeles!”.  It reminded me of some of the artwork Scott has used in his own haiga, which is often very sensual and dark. Most of you are familiar with his work but if you aren’t, stop by The Empty Sky and see for yourself why he’s a favorite. I’ve included links below to our other collaborations as well.

The Plea
In The Eye of the Beholder
Rendezvous
By Any Other Name
Ignition
M

The one below, is a death poem haiga which for some reason that I can’t remember, only made it to Facebook and not onto my blog but it’s one of my favorites. The artwork is mine but the poem/concept was all Scott. Like I’ve said previously, Scott gives me an idea then leads me to the edge of a cliff and pushes me off. And that’s how I like it.

564908_10151216680134195_442510569_n (1)

Leave a Reply

