“when last we met…”

when last we met
when last we met
I was arriving on a jet plane
500 miles of forgetting trailing behind
contrails vaporizing, as I stepped through the gate
I dropped my book and
when you bent to rescue it,
my eyes feasted on the curls
licking your collar
as you looked up,
your own tongued my soul
that was the beginning
of when first we met…
after 24 hours
and a lifetime
of an impossible us,
you were leaving on a jet plane

that was the end
of when last we met

Leave a Reply

